Welcome to Caledon

Terra Cotta

  Print Icon    
  •  

Visit Terra Cotta

Terra Cotta

Terra Cotta was originally known as Tucker's Mills, named after one of the hamlet's first settlers, Henry Tucker and builder of its first mill. 

It changed names to Plewes Mills when Simon Plewes took over the mill and again to Salmonville when the post office opened because of the plentiful salmon in the river. 

Industry began in the area with brickworks exploiting the local red clay and in 1891 the post office was renamed Terra Cotta.  

The hamlet boasts close proximity to the Terra Cotta Conservation Area, which offers great trails for hiking, bird watching and photography, as well as seasonal outdoor activities and weddings. 

Located on the banks of the Credit River on the main street of the hamlet is a not-to-be-missed stop, the Terra Cotta Inn, one of the most spectacular dining locations in Ontario.  Stay overnight at PearTree B&B.  

Don't miss a visit to the Terra Cotta Country Store, host of Buzzfest the last weekend of September.  The store features fashion and accessories, an onsite bakery, coffee, tea and gourmet ice cream and fresh fruit frozen yogurt.

Mile 0 Marker of the Caledon Trailway is on the western edge of the hamlet where Brick Lane meets the trail.  A kiln chimney, visible to the north of the trailway, is the last vestige of the brickworks.

Check out some of the unique historical buildings and learn more about this hamlet's history with a self-guided walking tour.

Visitors may park at the Terra Cotta Community Hall on the west side of High Street..